• Natasha Lightfoot and Manan Ahmed were selected as awardees for the Lenfest Junior Faculty Development Awards, Spring 2016.
  • Eric Foner was honored with the Everyday Freedom Hero award by the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center. 
  • Pamela Smith and Frédéric Brechenmacher received an Alliance Joint Project Grant for their project “Objects and Archives in Science, Technology, and Society Studies: Promoting Research and Innovative Teaching Co-initiatives.”
  • Karen Barkey was awarded Alliance Joint Project Grant for “Negotiating Pluralism in Shared Religious Sites.”
  • Mae Ngai was named a Phi Beta Kappa visiting scholar for the 2015-2016 academic year.
  • CBC News and Maclean’s covered Susan Pedersen‘s 2015 Cundill Prize in Historical Literature win for her book The Guardians.
  • The American Philosophical Society awarded Joel Kaye the 2015 Jacques Barzun Prize in Cultural History for his book A History of Balance, 1250-1375: The Emergence of a New Model of Equilibrium and Its Impact on Thought. The annual Barzun Prize is open to books centered in all time periods and all disciplines that touch on the history of culture, broadly conceived.
  • Susan Pedersen was awarded the Cundill Prize for her book The Guardians: The League of Nations and the Crisis of Empire.
  • Congratulations to the following social science faculty, inagural recipients of the Heyman Center FellowshipsManan AhmedTarik AmarHilary HallettNatasha Lightfoot, and Rhiannon Stephens.
  • Abosede George‘s book, Making Modern Girls: A History of Girlhood, Labor, and Social Development in Colonial Lagos, was awarded the 2015 Aidoo-Snyder Book Prize by the African Studies Association.
  • Martha Howell has been elected as foreign member of the Royal Flemish Academy of Belgium for Science and the Arts (RFABSA).
  • Adam Tooze‘s The Deluge: The Great War, America and the Remaking of the Global Order, 1916-1931, is a Kirkus Prize Finalist.
  • Susan Pedersen‘s book, The Guardians: The League of Nations and the Crisis of Empire, was shortlisted for the 2015 Cundill Prize in Historical Literature.
  • Professor Emeritus Herbert S. Klein is the 2015 recipient of the Conference on Latin American History’s Distinguished Service Award.
  • Mark Mazower received an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Athens.
  • Rebecca Kobrin received a Provost’s Grant for Junior Faculty Who Contribute to the Diversity Goals of the University. Her project is on the “Voices of the New Russian-Jewish Diaspora.”
  • Karl Jacoby‘s French translation of his book Shadows at Dawn was awarded the Grand Prix des Rendez-Vous De L’Histoire in France. Shadows at Dawn is the first book in translation to win this award.
  • Mae Ngai was awarded the President’s Global Innovation Fund grant for a project on “Colonization and Decolonialization in the Making of the Modern World: An Intensive Summer Course Taught in Rio de Janeiro and New Delhi.”
  • Matthew Connelly was awarded a grant from the Provost Hybrid Learning Course Redesign and Delivery Request for Proposals for a course on “International and Global History Since World War II.”
  • Mae Ngai was selected as a Visiting Scholar for 2015-2016 by the Phi Beta Kappa Society.
  • Susan Pedersen and Pamela Smith received the President’s Global Innovation Fund grant for the Enhancing the Research Component of the History Major.
  • Ira Katznelson was awarded the 2015 John Jay Award.
  • Marwa Elshakry was awarded the Morris D. Forkosch Prize for Reading Darwin in Arabic, 1860-1950.The prize is awarded annually by the Journal of the History of Ideas for the best first book in intellectual history.
  • Rebecca Kobrin is a recipient of the 2015 Distinguished Columbia Faculty Award. The award was created in 2005 by Columbia Trustee Emeritus, Gerry Lenfest, (LAW’58, HON’09), to honor exceptional faculty in the Arts and Sciences. The awards are given annually to recognize unusual merit across a range of activities including scholarship, University citizenship, and professional involvement, with primary emphasis on teaching and mentoring of undergraduate and graduate students.
  • Neslihan Senocak was named a Fellow of the National Humanities Center for 2015-16.